All It Takes Is A Little Push

Image

PVR Mulund – Plays Movies that Other Multiplexes think people are too dumb to understand/

I woke up this morning to go for a run. Never underestimate the power of predictability. I did not wake up early because I slept late. That probably hurt my ego a bit. In my defense it is so hard to wake up from the cozy embrace of me bed. Anyway , I decided to do something … different. 

I first saw the teaser of ‘Now You See Me‘ when I went to see The Reluctant Fundamentalist The teaser had me hooked and I was sure I was going to go watch this movie. Motivated by this new found urge to experience thrill – I checked out movie timings on my Nexus 7 and found out there was only one theater playing this movie. PVR Mulund. Now I have a theory – I think other multiplexes think that it is a good idea to not play shows of movies that PVR Mulund has no problem showing because residents of Thane are too ‘LS‘ or ‘dumb- not_polished abrasive’ to watch these movies and hence these said movies wont do any business. Well , it’s just a theory. In all likelihood – they couldn’t get the distribution rights.

So I decided to see this movie alone. Now – it may look like a very sad case of events : Oh , I’m so bored. What do I do? I’ll go watch a movie. But whom should I go with? … *forever alone meme* .. I’ll go alone.

But let me assure you that was not the case. I was about to embark on a journey full of adventure , odds and excitement – and this was a journey not for the faint of the heart or pampered ponies. 

I put on a red checkered shirt and a black & white checkered shorts. Set my LG-C900 to audio mode and plugged in the earphones. Packed my backpack with trusty air pump , raincoat , bottle of water , keys (very important not to get locked out) and sufficient amount of money (don’t be stingy). I put on my red helmet and walked down to my my_dad’s ORBIA bicycle in slow motion. 

It was going to be a long journey but I was determined. It was 9:08 AM. 

Image

Neil Peart’s Ghost Rider – Close Enough

It was a long journey. How long? THIS LONG.

Image

Hiranandani Thane to PVR Mulund

 

Image

A Very Cohesive Album

Cycle rides can be scary but they are equally fun. I had Karnivool‘s (Aussie Prog Giants) Sound Awake <I highly recommend that you please listen to this wonderful album here.> playing in the background as I rode that bike. The feeling was heavenly and if you listen to the album here you can understand what I’m trying to tell you. See what I did there? I just deliberately pushed the link to the album 2 times. Yes , it’s that good and when you are riding freely on an open road , rain pouring down on you – it’s something else. Witness to the chaos of traffic , the hand gestures , the street signs. People staring at me as though I’m a from a different country and I looked at them with gleeful smiles and thumps up. It rained as the songs changed from one mood to the other. The power of Karnivool shone brightly throughout the journey. Times got rough , as traffic got more menacing.  BEST buses on my tail , ready to run me down. Tourist (those idiotic for hire one’s that we all love to hate – the one’s with an encircled T on them) cars whizzing from one lane to the other. Competing bikers swooshing by with something to prove to a happy go lucky dude on a bike. It must have been my red helmet that caught the attention or maybe the grooves of Steve Judd that I was swinging to. 

Heart racing as muscles pumped – exhuming every ounce of energy from my the ends of my body. Okay , maybe it is getting too dramatic. It was fun to ride all the way. 

I parked my bike and locked it to a tree. Then I went to watch the movie. On my way back – the album continued to play and so did the exciting – near death-defying stunts – all just to get back home. I almost fell down twice and maneuvered around the elderly on four identical occasions. I complimented three wonderful girls , argued with two archaic security guards , befriended a Vada-Pav(Indian Burger) retailer and cut in a deal for better seats with the attendant at PVR Cinema’s Ticket Counter. I went into Crossword for a while and playfully turned pages of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones : A Song of Fire and Ice Series. 

The review to ‘Now You See Me’ is coming pretty soon – but for the moment , I want you all to ponder over how risky but essential it was for me and is for anyone else to undertake certain journeys on a moments notice. I don’t regret this day (and it’s not over yet). I am not pompous of my little stint – but I wanted to share my experience with you all. Life’s about experiences – is it not? Its a New Day. 

All it took was a little push.

Leave a comment